Let's stop the slaughter of dolphins in Europe !


Already 189956 signatures !

#Standup250France

Monsieur Nicolas HULOT
Ministre d'Etat de la transition Ecologique et Solidaire
246 Boulevard Saint-Germain
Hôtel de Roquelaure
75007 PARIS

Dear Minister,

We are writing to you in the name of the NGO Sea Shepherd in order to request that France lodge a complaint with the International Court of Justice in The Hague against the Kingdom of Denmark for violating European community laws. In fact, we have photographic evidence proving that Royal Danish Navy vessels have several times assisted the boats of Faroese locals to hunt dolphins off the Faroese coast.

The Faroe Islands still perpetuate the barbarous and cruel practice of slicing through the spinal cord of hundreds of dolphins after having forced them to beach themselves in one of the islands' bays. This practice which is nearly 1500 years old and whose purpose used to be to provide the Faroese with a nutritious food source is no longer necessary these days. This gratuitous slaughter carries on within a society where the GDP per inhabitant is 52 000 USD. Furthermore, the consumption of dolphin meat has a very negative impact on health. According to the Faroese medical profession the levels of mercury, pesticides and lead contained in the meat of these marine mammals are actually extremely dangerous to human health.

On Thursday the 23rd July 2015 at approximately 18h, the Islands' villagers butchered nearly 250 pilot whales on the Tórshavn and Vágar coasts. During these two slaughters, seven volunteers from our Sea Shepherd organisation, one of whom is a French citizen, were arrested and accused of attempting to save these dolphins. Last year, on the 30th August 2014, fourteen volunteers, eight of whom were French, were arrested for having peacefully intervened in a slaughter taking place on the beach at Sandur. During this intervention and despite the activists' bravery on the beach, 33 pilot whales lost their lives.

Minister, we request that you intervene with the Hague Tribunal to lodge a complaint against Denmark for being complicit in the slaughter of protected species. We can provide photographic and video evidence that Royal Danish Navy vessels have assisted the Faroese police force in intercepting and arresting these volunteers who were trying to uphold European laws.

As a member of the European Union, Denmark should follow the European Community’s stance of aiming to « protect cetaceans (whales, dolphins, etc.) against hunting, capture or detention » by condemning the grindadráp (slaughter of dolphins in the Faroe Islands). It is thus France’s responsibility to uphold the European Council’s draft decision (dated 25th August 2011). According to Article 4 paragraph 3 of the Treaty of the European Union, this same draft states that « The Member States have a duty of sincere cooperation and should refrain from any measure outside of EU legislation which could jeopardize the rules of the Union or its objectives».

If we cannot compel the Faroe Islands to uphold the European Union’s recommendations, as they are not part of the Community, this treaty requires Denmark to not violate these agreements. Not only is Denmark transgressing European legislation by ensuring that the slaughters off the Faroese coast run smoothly, but it is also violating several other agreements and conventions which it has ratified via the European Union. Amongst which are included:

  • The ASCOBANS on the conservation of small cetaceans of the Baltic, the North-East Atlantic and of the Irish and North Seas.
  • The Convention on the Conservation of Migratory species belonging to Wildlife signed in 1979 aiming to protect migratory species (or the Bonn Convention)
  • The Convention on the Conservation of Wildlife and Natural Habitats of Europe signed on the 19th September 1979 in Berne.

Currently included in annex II of the Convention on the conservation of migratory species, the long-finned pilot whale (Globicephala melas) and the short-finned pilot whale (Globicephala macrorhynchus) belong to migratory species which have an unfavourable conservation status, requiring international agreements to ensure their conservation. Pilot whales are included on the IUCN Red List of endangered species which furthermore considers that greater studies are necessary to determine the impact of potential threats on the species. It is therefore urgent to work in favour of the protection of pilot whales, a marine mammal which is protected throughout European Union territory.

In order to comply with international law, with current European legislation and with the conservation of marine ecosystems, we request you to lodge a complaint against the Kingdom of Denmark for the violation of European Community laws and to encourage your European counterparts sitting in the European Union Council to support France in this move.

Thanking you in advance for taking an interest in our appeal,

Yours sincerely

References:

  • The figure is estimated for 2013 and comes from the World Bank website:
    http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/ NY.GDP.PCAP.CD
  • http://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content /FR/TXT/?uri=URISERV:l28198
  • http://www.studentsoftheworld.info/ infopays/wfb_fr.php3?CODEPAYS=FRO
  • http://www.ascobans.org/sites/default/files/ basic_page_documents/ASCOBANS_AgreementText _French_integratedAmendment.pdf
  • "http://www.europarl.europa.eu/sides/ getAllAnswers.do? reference=E-2014-002160&language=FR
  • "http://www.uicn.fr/IMG/pdf/Liste_rouge_
    France_Mammiferes_de_metropole.pdf
  • Decree of 1st July 2011 determining the list of marine mammals protected throughout the national territory and the means of their protection 
    Short-finned pilot whale (Globicephala macrorhynchus).
Long-finned pilot whale (Globicephala melas).
    http://www.legifrance.gouv.fr/affichTexte.do?cidTexte=
    JORFTEXT000024396902

Stoppons les massacres de dauphins en Europe !


Déjà 110563 signatures !

#Standup250France

Madame Ségolène ROYAL
Ministre de l’Ecologie, du Développement durable et de l’Energie
246 Boulevard Saint-Germain
Hôtel de Roquelaure
75007 PARIS

 

Madame la Ministre,

Nous vous écrivons au nom de l’ONG Sea Shepherd afin de demander à la France de déposer plainte auprès de la cour de justice internationale de la Haye, contre le Royaume du Danemark, pour violation des lois de la communauté européenne. En effet, nous pouvons témoigner preuve à l'appui que les navires de la Marine royale danoise ont été photographiés à plusieurs reprises en train d'assister les bâteaux d'habitants des Iles Féroé à chasser les baleines au large des côtes féringiennes.

Les Iles Féroé perpétuent encore à ce jour une pratique barbare et cruelle qui consiste à trancher au couteau la moelle épinière de centaines de dauphins, après les avoir contraints à s'échouer sur une des baies des îles. Cette pratique vieille de près de 1500 ans, qui avait pour but d'apporter une ressource alimentaire pour les habitants féringiens, n'a plus lieu d'être aujourd'hui. Ce massacre inutile se perpétue au sein d’une société dont le PIB par habitant est de 52 000 USD. La consommation de viande de dauphin a par ailleurs un impact très négatif sur la santé. Selon le corps medical féringien les taux de mercure, de pesticides et de plomb contenus dans la chair de ces mammifères marins se révélent extrêmement dangereux pour la santé humaine.
 
Jeudi 23 juillet 2015 aux alentours de 18h, les villageois des îles ont  abattu près de 250 baleines pilotes au large des côtes de Torshvan et de Vagar. Au cours de ces deux massacres, sept volontaires de notre organisation, Sea Shepherd, dont un citoyen français ont été arrêtés et accusés d’avoir tenté de sauver ces dauphins. L'an dernier déjà, au jour du 30 août 2014, quatorze volontaires dont huit français avaient été arrêtés pour s'être pacifiquement interposés à un massacre survenu sur la plage de Sandur.  Durant cette action, et malgré le courage des activistes sur le terrain, 33 globicéphales avaient perdu la vie.

Nous vous demandons, Madame la Ministre, d'intervenir auprès du tribunal de la Haye afin de déposer plainte contre le Danemark pour s'être rendu complice de massacres d’espèces protégées. Nous pouvons témoigner preuves photos et vidéos à l'appui que les navires de la marine royale danoise ont assisté et aidé la police féringienne à intercepter et arrêter ces mêmes volontaires, qui tentaient de faire respecter les lois européennes.  


Le Danemark étant un des pays membres de l'Union Européenne, celui-ci doit se soumettre à la position de la Communauté Européenne visant à « protéger les cétacés (les baleines, les dauphins, etc.) contre la chasse, la capture ou la détention » en condamnant le grindadrap (massacre de dauphins aux iles Féroé). Il est donc de la responsabilité de la France de faire respecter la « proposition de décision du Conseil Européen (datant du 25 août 2011). En vertu de l’article 4 paragraphe 3, du traité sur l'Union Européenne, cette même proposition déclare que « Les États membres ont un devoir de coopération loyale et ne sont pas autorisés à contracter, hors du cadre de la législation de l'UE, des obligations susceptibles de porter atteinte aux règles de l'Union ou d’en modifier le champ d’application ».

Si nous ne pouvons pas obliger les Iles Féroé à respecter les recommandations de l'Union Européenne, celles-ci ne faisant pas partie de la Communauté, cet accord contraint le Danemark à ne pas violer ces accords de droit. Non seulement le Danemark transgresse la législation européenne en faisant en sorte d'assurer le bon déroulement des massacres au large des côtes féringiennes, mais il viole également plusieurs autres accords et conventions qu'il a ratifié par l'intermédiaire de l'Union Européenne. Parmi ceux-ci figurent :

  • L'accord ASCOBANS sur la conservation des petits cétacés de la mer Baltique, du nord-est de l'Atlantique et des mers d'Irlande et du Nord.
  • La Convention sur la conservation des espèces migratrices appartenant à la faune sauvage signée en 1979 visant à protéger les espèces migratrices (ou convention de Bonn)
  • La Convention relative à la conservation de la vie sauvage et du milieu naturel de l'Europe signée le 19 septembre 1979 à Berne.

Figurant actuellement à l'annexe II de la Convention sur la conservation des espèces migratrices, le globicéphale commun (Globicephala melas) et le globicéphale noir (Globicephala macrorhynchus) font partie des espèces migratrices dont l'état de conservation est défavorable, nécessitant la conclusion d'accords internationaux pour assurer leur conservation. Les globicéphales figurent sur la Liste Rouge des espèces menacées de l’IUCN qui estime par ailleurs que de plus amples recherches sont nécessaires afin de déterminer l'impact de menaces potentielles pour l'espèce. Il est donc urgent d’oeuvrer en faveur de la protection des globicéphales, mammifères marins protégés sur le territoire de l’Union Européenne.

Au nom du respect du droit international, de la législation européenne en vigueur et de la conservation des écosystèmes marins, nous vous demandons de déposer plainte contre le Royaume du Danemark pour violation des lois de la Communauté Européenne et d'encourager vos homologues européens siégeant au Conseil de l’Union Européenne à soutenir la France dans cette démarche.

En vous remerciant par avance de l’intérêt que vous porterez à notre requête, nous vous prions d’agréer, Madame la Ministre, l’assurance de notre très haute consideration.

 

Références

Le chiffre est estimé pour l'année 2013 et provient du site de la Banque Mondiale :
http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/NY.GDP.PCAP.CD

Sources :

  • http://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/FR/TXT/?uri=URISERV:l28198
  • http://www.studentsoftheworld.info/infopays/
    wfb_fr.php3?CODEPAYS=FRO
  • http://www.ascobans.org/sites/default/files/
    basic_page_documents/ASCOBANS_AgreementText_
    French_integratedAmendment.pdf
  • http://www.europarl.europa.eu/sides/getAllAnswers.do?
    reference=E-2014-002160&language=FR
  • http://www.uicn.fr/IMG/pdf/Liste_rouge_
    France_Mammiferes_de_metropole.pdf

Arrêté du 1er juillet 2011 fixant la liste des mammifères marins protégés sur le territoire national et les modalités de leur protection Globicéphale tropical (Globicephala macrorhynchus). 
Globicéphale noir (Globicephala melas) :
http://www.legifrance.gouv.fr/affichTexte.do?cidTexte=JORFTEXT000024396902